Algoa Kart & Motorcycle Club


Six Northern Regions karting champions were crowned at the series finale at a sweltering Zwartkops on Saturday with the headline news no doubt being in the Max Challenge 125cc class, where Sandton lass Fabienne Lanz (Formula K) took the title from Waverley’s Ivana Cetinich (Birel) and Shannon Jackson (CRG) from East London in what is believed to be the first motorsport championship anywhere in the world ever to be won by three ladies in a series where the gentlemen also race.

While the ladies never featured in the top three of a Challenge meeting dominated by Durban driver Jordan Sherratt (Birel) from the tussling Michael Buccholz and Luca Canderle, Jackson’s fourth overall and Cetinich finishing fifth cemented their respective third and second places in a championship wrapped up by Lanz’ fifth in the first heat, after which Fabienne parked her kart in preparation for Sunday’s African Open.

Young Benoni driver Delon Thompson was another driver to come away from Zwartkops with a championship and another stunning statistic to his name – the Kosmic driver won every one of the 24 races in the 125cc high school championship on his way to clinching a crushing championship.

Thompson was followed by Bedfordview driver Cameron O’Connor (Birel) in both he championship chase and on the day, while visiting drivers Daniel Duminy (Kosmic) from Chakas Rock and Cape Town kid Delano Fowler (TonyKart) followed them home with Wyland Wyman and Mozambican visitor Karl Pitzer next up. Vereeniging driver Joshua Dias ended up third in the championship race from Pretoria lad Dillon van Vuuren and  Tiago Rebello.

Kyalami kid Kwanda Mokoena (FA) was anther driver to wrap up a dominant championship victory in the 60cc primary school Maxterino class ahead of wildcard entry Jarrod Waberski (Topkart) from Kyalami and Pretoria lad and Anthony Pretorius (Zanardi), Durban visitor Tristan Losch and local lad Aqil Alibhai as Pretorius nicked runner-up in the title chase over Alibhai by just 3 points.

Moving up to the big guns, Randburg charger Chad Maciver (CRG) put one over newly-crowned DD2 gearbox champion, Bloemfontein racer Justin Allison (TonyKart) winning two races to one on the day, with Durbanite Benjamin Habig (TonyKart) third from Eugene Brittz, Christian Bouché.

Wildcard PE Production Car star Michael Stephen won DD2 Masters from that championship 1-2, Potchefstroom racer Ronaldo Baptista (Birel) and Pretoria lass Jennifer Verheul (CRG).  Maciver won the overall DD2 title from Baptista, Verheul and Maciver who jumped up to fourth with his win on Saturday.

Clint Jones beat newly crowned old school 125 GP champion Scott Falconer two races to one on the day with Miguel Dias, Ryan and Ron Bakewell next up, while Mohammed Moerat led Khanya Khubheka and Bjorn Bertholdt home in the club championship Cadet races.

Lanz, Cetinich and Jackson however turned the regional raceday into an historic one with that world first ladies championship 1-2-3 to place a wonderful rose in an the otherwise thorny environment in a memorable South African motorsport achievement…

Published on behalf of Rand Kart Club

Please follow and like us:

Please Login to Comment.

Follow by Email